Central Manitoulin council lauds treasurer for financial award

CENTRAL MANITOULIN – Following the announcement of the Ministry of Municipal Affairs and Housing Financial Information Return (FIR) Awards winners it was revealed that Central Manitoulin has once again been recognized “for their efforts in ensuring that timely, reliable and accurate financial information was submitted for the 2019 Financial Information Return.” This is the fifth year in a row the municipality has been recognized.

Mayor Richard Stephens said that he was pleased to see that the letter from the ministry recognized Denise Deforge specifically this year.

“I think council should know that while they don’t rank the award, we were in the top five this year,” shared CAO/Clerk Ruth Frawley. “In fact, not only were we in the top five, we were actually number three.”

Ms. Frawley credited the work ethic of the treasurer as key in the ministry award, noting that she puts in many overtime hours to ensure the reports arrive in a timely manner.

Councillor Dale Scott suggested that the council should recognize Ms. Deforge’s efforts with a card signed by all members.

“This is the fifth year in a row that our municipality has been recognized,” confirmed Ms. Deforge, who has been in her role for 15 years, but she quickly eschewed sole credit. “We have a really good staff here,” she said. “I just organize things, they are the ones who prepare the reports in a timely manner.”

The Central Manitoulin financial team is under a certain amount of stress each year now, she laughed. “Now that we have won five times in a row, we kind of feel we have to keep it up.”

This year’s winners of the Ministry of Municipal Affairs and Housing Financial Information Return Awards are: Baldwin; Brooke-Alvinston; Brudenell; Lyndoch and Raglan; Callander; Carleton Place; Central Frontenac; Central Manitoulin; Dawson; Killaloe; Hagarty and Richards; Lake of The Woods; Lanark County; Nipissing; Rideau Lake; Smiths Falls and Whitewater Region.