CMPS runners win Island elementary school cross-country championship

And they’re off! Competitors leave the starting point in their race at the Manitoulin Island elementary school cross-country championship.

GORE BAY—The Central Manitoulin Public School (CMPS) Eagles have won the 2018 Manitoulin Island Elementary School cross-country championships, which took place in Gore Bay last week. Finishing second overall was Little Current Public School, while there was a tie for third place for total aggregate points accumulated between Assiginack Public School and Charles C. McLean.

Robyn Best, one of the organizers of the event and master of ceremonies for the awards presentations stated, “what a great day.” She encouraged everyone to acknowledge all the participating runners, people who worked on the trails (which, from the youngest age was a distance of two kilometers to the senior grades of a 3.5 kilometre distance) and the coaches.

Then the medals were presented. In the girls’ eight and under division, two kilometre race, CMPS’ Corie Brown took top spot, with Lakeview’s Rowyn Kasunich and C.C. McLean’s Brynn Best in second and third, respectively. In the boys’ division Roen Deschenes of LCPS was first, followed by two CMPS runners, Easton Assinewai and David Joyce.

The girls’ 9-10 age class again saw two CMPS runners taking the top two spots, with Mya Balfe first and Samantha McKenzie in second. Assiginack’s Sapphire Case took third place. The boys’ division saw Rylan Pennie of Assiginack in top spot. Jack Bridgeman of CMPS in second and Dayne Gibeault of Assiginack in third position.

This cross-country season two young ladies have been back and forth in first and second in various competitions. In the 11-12 girls’ race, Maren Kasunich (Lakeview) crossed the finish line in first, with Ava Assinewai of CMPS second. Taking the bronze medal was CMPS’ Annie Balfe. In the boys’ race Davin Deschenes (LCPS) was first, followed by Brodie Pennie and Xavi Mara, both of Assiginack Public School taking the silver and bronze medals.

The 13-year-old girls’ division saw Delaney Bridgeman of CMPS in first place. Wasse Abin’s Shaolin Roy was second while her teammate Janelle Aleiwenzie took third. The boys’ division saw Alan Wilkin of LCPS taking first place. Winning the silver medal was Billy Biederman of LCPS with Jack Pennie of Assiginack taking the bronze medal.

The CMPS cross-country
team poses for a photo after winning the cross-country championship.