Heather Hall rink wins Gore Bay Curling Club

The Heather Hall rink won the first event at the Gore Bay Curling Club annual ladies’ bonspiel, held this past weekend. In photo is the winning team which includes, from left, Mary Ann Alston, Holly Clark, Nancy Head and Heather Hall.

GORE BAY—The Heather Hall rink has won the first event at the Gore Bay Curling Club’s annual ladies bonspiel, held this past weekend.

The Heather Hall rink, which also included Nancy Head, Holly Clark and Mary Ann Alston, won the first event over the Sherri Clark rink. Ms. Clark’s rink also included Brooklyn Clark, Nancy Clark and Brenda Clark.

For their efforts, the Heather Hall rink was presented with the Doris “Toots” Strain Memorial trophy.

In the second event, the Ellen Holroyd rink won the final over the Kim Orford rink. The Ellen Holroyd rink also included Bev McDermid, Judy MacKenzie and Kathy King. The Kim Orford rink included Sue Case, Barb Armstrong and Mary-Lea Buchan.

“It is really special to be back after two years of no curling,” said Ms. Hall. She thanked Elva Carter and Dan Marois for their efforts in organizing the bonspiel. “I’m really proud that we won the first event of this first bonspiel held, after Sandie’s (Merrylees) passing. Sandie made everyone who took part in this bonspiel feel special.”

The Ellen Holroyd rink was presented with the Phyllis Smith Memorial trophy for winning the second event final.

There was a new, special trophy presented to the third event final winners this year. The third event Sandie Merrylees Memorial Trophy was presented by Kim Orford to the Mary-Lynn McQuarrie rink. Her rink also included Marian Hester, Mandy McLeod and Katherine Pearson. They defeated the Suzanne White rink, which included Diane Newlands, Jary White and Connie Hester in the final.

“This is a beautiful trophy, and we are very grateful to be the first winners of the Sandie Merrylees Memorial trophy,” said Marion Hester.

Dan Marois, president of the Gore Bay Curling Club said, “thank you to all you ladies for coming out to participate in this year’s bonspiel.” He also thanked all those who had helped organize the event, the kitchen crew and the decorating crew, along with the many sponsors who provided prizes for the event.