Jordan chandler rink wins Gore Bay men’s bonspiel

The Jordan Chandler rink, left to right, are Ted Ferguson, Jordan Chandler, Ron McQuarrie and Jimmy Bickell.

GORE BAY—The Jordan Chandler rink won the first event championship at the annual Gore Bay curling club men’s bonspiel, held recently in Gore Bay.

Mr. Chandler, whose rink included Jimmy Bickell, Ron McQuarrie and Ted Ferguson, outlasted the Dan Marois rink in the final game. The game required an extra end and a great shot by Mr. Chandler on the very last rock of the game to win. The Dan Marois rink also included Lyle Strain and Marc Addison.

For their efforts the Jordan Chandler rink was presented with the E.F. Priddle Memorial Trophy. Molly Anne McLaughlin also provided a cash prize to the members of the first event winning team.

In the second event, the David McDermid rink defeated the Bill McCoy team to take first place. The McDermid rink also included Jack White, Bob Caddel and Angus MacDonald. Bill McCoy’s rink included Richard Morin, Delroy Prescott and Gary Gray.

The third event saw the Lew Lanktree skipped rink take first place. His rink included Artie Berti, Greg Bond and Greg Mailloux.

Runner up in the third event was the Bill Riach skipped rink, which included John Windsor, Randy Skippen and Ed Wright.

A total of 12 rinks took part in the annual bonspiel.