M’Chigeeng Thunderbirds win Island novice hockey championship

Island champs! The M’Chigeeng Thunderbirds team won the Manitoulin Minor Hockey Association (MMHA) Novice ‘A’ division hockey championship, last week.

LITTLE CURRENT – The Little Current-Howland Minor Hockey Association hosted the annual Island-wide Manitoulin Minor Hockey Association (MMHA) novice championship this past weekend.

The M’Chigeeng Thunderbirds faced off against the Wikwemikong Hawks Lightning for the ‘A’ division championship, winning the final game by a score of 7-2.

Named most valuable players for M’Chigeeng were Maximus Panamick on offence and Landon Armstrong on defence.

The M’Chigeeng Thunderbirds roster includes Matthew Debassige, Navin Corbiere, Sophia Hare, Aiyannah Toulouse, Maximus Panamick, Mike Taukei, Sophia Peltier, M’Koonhs Corbiere, Wade Debassige, Darius Migwans, Tomas Naokwegijig and Landon Armstrong. Jimmy Panamick is coach of the team with assistant coach James Panamick, trainer Michelle Taukei, assistant trainer James Panamick, assistant trainer Ashley Debassige and manager Renee Corbiere.

The Little Current Flyers faced off against the Wikwemikong Hawks Thunder for the ‘B’ Championship. Little Current won by a score of 10-2. MVPs for Little Current included Casey Bowerman on offence and Isaac Souliere on defence.

The Little Current Flyers roster includes goalie Laila-Mae Taibossigai, Casey Bowerman, Noah Shawanda, Thomas Anderson, Jaxon Panamick, Brooklyn Toulouse, Isaac Souliere, Azalea Anaya, Kailyn Inglis, Boston Abotossawy, Laine Coleman, Charlotte Ziegler, and Nathan Quackenbush. Coach of the team is Sean Coleman, with assistant coach and trainer Ben Quackenbush and manager Sarah Quackenbush.

The Little Current Flyers won the ‘B’ division at the Manitoulin Minor Hockey Association (MMHA) Novice championships.