Mixed bonspiel trophy decided by a measure

The Dr. Jack and Mary McQuay Memorial Mixed Bonspiel Trophy winners for 2017 received the plaque that will bear their names. Jan McQuay (left) handed the plaque to skip Mark Love, vice Marian Hester, second Todd Bailey and lead Lynn Love.

MINDEMOYA—In a race it would have been called a “photo finish.” The final game in the battle for first prize came down to a single rock thrown by skip Mark Love. Greg Towns’ team was down by one point “coming home,” as they call the last end in curling, but with Greg’s last rock they were counting three. Mark’s final rock tapped back two of their rocks and stayed, but whose rock was closest to the button? They got out the measuring stick and carefully measured the distance of the two rocks from the centre of the rings.

Mark Love’s rock was closest, clinching the win for the Dr. Jack and Mary McQuay Memorial Mixed Bonspiel 2017 trophy. It was a dramatic ending to the weekend bonspiel at the Mindemoya Curling Club. Kudos also go to Daphne Keller, who played lead for Lynn Love in the final game.

Second place winners in the First Event were Greg Towns and his team, Janyn Towns and Anna and Wayne Murdock. In the Second Event, Ruben Allen’s team won the last game over the team headed by Dan Proulx. In the Third Event, Bill McCoy’s team took first prize over Jack White’s team.

Sixteen teams vied for the prizes in the bonspiel, a success by any measure. Contributions for the prizes came from Manitowaning Mill Home Building Centre, Rylan’s Clothing and Williamson’s Up Top Sports Shop. Events like this are only possible with the hard work of many club volunteers, like Stu and Chris Yanke who organized the meals and kept the kitchen running smoothly, Keith Legge who drew up the bonspiel schedule, and ice makers Jeff MacKenzie, Stu Yanke, Ray Malo and Jim Fairburn. Musicians Darryl Van Horn and his daughter Taylor, Larry Karn and Jeff MacKenzie provided live entertainment on Saturday night.