Six nominated for chief, 54 for Wiikwemkoong council seats


WIIKWEMKOONG – Nominations for chief and council of the Wiikwemkoong Unceded Territories were held at the Wiikwemkoong council chambers on Saturday, July 4 from 9 am to 12 pm. There is one position of chief and 12 councillor positions up for election on August 15.

The nomination procedure included several measures to ensure health and safety of the participants, with limits on the number of people allowed in at a time and requirements for rubber gloves, masks and sanitizers were in effect. Electors were also able to nominate candidates by mail or orally at the nomination meeting.

Nominated for chief are Roland I. Pangowish, Chuck Peltier, Duke Peltier (incumbent), Daniel M. Roy, Rosemary (Wemigwans) Shawanda and Garnier Terry Spanish.

Nominated for councillor (names as listed by the electoral officer statement) are Duane (Chin) Assiniwe, Norman Jr. Assiniwe, Sarah Assiniwe, Lillian Baibomcowai-Dell, Dallas Bondy, John Dube (incumbent), Lawrence Enosse (incumbent), Harold Fox, Lynda Fox-Trudeau, Bernadine A. Francis (incumbent), Raymond J. F. Jackson, Christopher Johnston, Adam Kaboni, Marilyn S. Kimewon, Daryl King, David Joseph Francis Lavallee, Dante Lewis, Dorothy Mandamin, Margaret (Tish) Manitowabi (incumbent), Rachel E. Manitowabi (incumbent), Rolanda Manitowabi, Brian Peltier (incumbent), Chuck Peltier, Duke Peltier, Jason (JP) Peltier, Owen Peltier, Richard Peltier, Catherine Rose Pitawanakwat, Janine Pitawanakwat, Tim Ominika (incumbent), Jason P. Oshkabewisens, Jean Oshkabewisens, Matthew Oshkabewisens, Tracy (Cleland) Recollet, Sylvia Recollet (incumbent), Amanda (Mandy) Richard, Natalie Shawana, Robbie Shawana, Armando Shawanda, Rosemary (Wemigwans) Shawanda, Ian Trudeau, Shelly Ann Trudeau, Marcia Trudeau-Bomberry (incumbent), Sheri A. Wabanosse, Joseph M. Wabegijig, Gladys Wakegijig (incumbent), Lara K. Wabegijig, Kevin Wassegijig, Luke Wassegijig, Daniel Wassengeso and Madeline Loretta Wemigwans.

Electoral officer Vaughn Johnston has indicated that the names of the candidates will appear on the ballot as the candidate has requested, adding that if the candidate has not advised the electoral officer how they wish their name to appear, their name will be derived from how it is listed on the voter’s list.

Those nominated have until 4 pm, Thursday, July 9 to withdraw their name from the ballot. 

The electoral officer can be contacted by text to 1-705-849-8072 or by email at