Manitoulin Island Country Club hosts pair of tournaments

The Manitoulin Island Country club held its seniors open tournament last week. Winners in the event included in photo left to right, Phil Harper, Pam Cowan, Cindy Harper, Sharon MacDonald, Bill Baker, Peter Fletcher, Barry Wall, and Jim Thibault.

GORDON—The Manitoulin Island Country Club (MICC) hosted two tournaments this past week, including the seniors’ event on Wednesday of last week and the ladies’ annual tournament held this past Saturday.

A total of 13 (two person) teams took part in the 18 hole ladies’ open tournament held on Saturday. The team of Amy and Ashley Debassige took first place in the first flight championship with a score of 76 (four over par), defeating the Shelley Croft and Pam Cowan team by a single stroke (77).

Taking top spot in the second flight was the team of Allison Coulam and Connie Dalrymple, who carded a score of 93.

Dan Marois, master of ceremonies at the awards ceremony held Saturday evening said, “I would like to thank everyone for showing up for today’s tournament. We would also like to thank Arthur Pummell and his grounds crew for having the course in such good condition and Myrna Thomas and her kitchen staff for a great supper and hospitality during the day.” He also acknowledged John and Helen Garrett who manned the barbecue on the fourth hole during the day, Betty Lou Purvis and Ruby Croft who spotted on the fourth green (as part of the hole in one contest) and Keith Rogerson for organizing the games held as part of the tournament.

“Shelley Croft and H and M Mini Mart donated a hole in one cash prize of $5,000,” said Mr. Marois.

There were special prizes given out, including one for the longest drive on the seventh hole, won by Shelley Croft, closest to the pin on the fourth hole won by Amy Debassige and closest to the hole on the second hole, won by Cathy Fox.

The seniors open was held at the MICC on Wednesday of last week.

Myrna Thomas, clubhouse manager, noted that a total of 38 players took part (two person teams) in the tournament.

Dan Marois, centre, presents the MICC ladies’ championship trophy to Amy and Ashley Debassige.
Dan Marois, centre, presents the MICC ladies’ championship trophy to Amy and Ashley Debassige.

In the men’s A division, the team of Jim Thibault and Barry Wall took top spot with a score of 70 (two under par). In the men’s B division, Bill Baker and Peter Fletcher took top spot with a score of 80.

The mixed division saw Phil and Cindy Harper take top spot with a score of 78, while the ladies’ division saw Pam Cowan and Sharon MacDonald take first place with a score of 84.

Special prizes were also given out to Phil Harper for having the men’s shot closest to the hole on the fourth, Jim Thibault with the men’s longest drive on the third hole, the ladies ‘drive won by Cecilia Sloan and ladies’ closest to the pin, won by Nel Staalstra.