Sheshegwaning First Nation elects Dean Roy first term chief

SHESHGWANING—Following a trend on Manitoulin First Nations, the band members of the Sheshegwaning First Nation have elected a new chief to serve the community for the next term, Dean Joseph Roy.

It was a tight race between the top two contenders for the position of chief, with Mr. Roy taking the title by one vote, 57, to Lance Panamick’s 56 votes. Jessica Sampson also ran for chief, garnering 11 votes.

There were 14 candidates for councillor, with Leonard Genereux (52 votes), Nicole Bush (50 votes), Albert J. Cada (43 votes) and Greg Sampson (42 votes) making up the new council team.

Other candidates for councillor included Nick Bush (27 votes), Gene Cada (41 votes), Janice Cada (19 votes), Sharon (Sherry) Dayfox (13 votes), Elizabeth Laford (24 votes), Angela McLeod (36 votes), Blair Sampson (22 votes), Jennifer Sampson-McLeod (33 votes), Emilio Tomaselli (18 votes) and Ernest Wabegijik (29 votes).