Students honoured during annual Wasse-Abin Christmas Gala

Award recipients at the gala were, back row, Christine Trudeau, Jessica Trudeau, Kira Dowdall, Shaelynn Recollet, Amber Dowdall, Annie Wemigwans, Bryanna Ominika, Brigitte Neganigwane, Patrina Pitawanakwat, Reynold Assiniwe and Hailey Roy front row, Richard Lewis, Adrayn Pangowish and Austin Pangowish.

WIKWEMIKONG—Each December, Wasse-Abin High School staff and students celebrate the achievements of the students from the previous school year at their Annual Christmas Gala. This year marks the 16th Annual Christmas Gala and it was held on Friday, December 5. The theme was ‘Soar High and Reach Your Dreams.’ This theme closely relates to the school’s motto, ‘Embrace life, Soar with the Eagles.’

Over the years, Wasse-Abin’s Christmas Gala has grown in the number of awards presented and this year a total of 48 recipients were honoured. The gala celebrates achievement across all levels of learning, which means that students who are heading to the workforce, college or university after high school all have chances of receiving awards. Students also earn awards for excellent attendance and the best overall academic average at each grade level.

This year’s gala welcomed a group of young men who form the high school’s very own drum group. High Eagle Juniors sang a welcome song for all of the guests and an honour song for the award recipients to close the event. These young men have been practicing daily on the drum and the gala committee was honoured to have Wyatt Bell-Metansinine, Geordan Lewis, Matthew Oshkabewisens, Garrett Peltier and Adrian and Colton Trudeau drum that evening.

The following is a list of the awards that were presented that evening, congratulations to all of the recipients:

Canada and the World Awards, sponsored by John and Jennifer Capin: Annie Wemigwans and Derek Pitawanakwat

Enaadmaagehjik (Wikwemikong Development Commission) sponsored the following awards. Business Award: Bryanna Ominika; Hospitality Award: Rick Lewis and Ashley Recollet; Trades Award: Adam Maiangowi and Robert Jr. Osawabine; Media Award: Austin Pangowish and Jessica Trudeau

Wikwemikong Heritage Organization sponsored several awards as well. Art Awards: Jacob Henry-Peltier, Moirah Shawana and Shaelynn Recollet; Anishnaabemowin Awards: Annie Wemigwans and Hannah Peltier; First Nations Studies Award: Hailey Roy

Josephine Lister Memorial Award, sponsored by Tammy and Ray Moreau: Hailey Roy

Grade 9 Native Language Award sponsored by Peggy and Bernie Brant: Annie Wemigwans

Science Awards sponsored by Wasse-Abin High School: Annie Wemigwans, Kira Dowdall and Christine Trudeau

The Mara University Science Award, sponsored by Chris Mara and Margit Alberti: Christine Trudeau

Lafarge University Science and Math Awards: Christine Trudeau

Mathematics Scholar Awards sponsored by Wikwemikong Health Centre: Hailey Roy, Kira Dowdall, Derek Pitawanakwat and Christine Trudeau

Wikwemikong Board of Education English Scholar Awards: Annie Wemigwans, Noah Ominika and Christine Trudeau

Physical Education Awards sponsored by Mnaamadzawin Fitness Centre: Tessa Ominika, William Peltier, Amber Dowdall, Lance Gaiashk and Naomi Peltier

Manitoulin Family Resources Award (presented to a student pursuing a career in a helping field): Dominic Desmoulin

Wikwemikong Tribal Police Award (presented to a WHS Graduate enrolled in a post-secondary program related to Law): Leo Peltier

Co-operative Education Award sponsored by Andrew Manitowabi Group: Preston Webkamigad

Life Skills Class Participation Award: Rheal Recollet-Ominika

Wasse-Abin High School Parent’s Council Attendance Awards: Adrayn Pangowish, Reynold Assiniwe, Brigitte Neganigwane and Max Mishibinijima

Wikwemikong Chief and Council Academic Excellence Awards: Patrina Pitawanakwat, Annie Wemigwans, Hannah Peltier, Brigitte Neganigwane and Christine Trudeau.