Three candidates for office in unorganized townships acclaimed

ESPANOLA—The Manitoulin-Sudbury District Services Board (DSB) has announced the acclamation of certified candidates to represent territories without municipal organization (TWMO).

The three acclaimed TWMO candidates for Area No. 7 are Bruce Killah (current chair of the DSB board), David Santi and Denise Portelance-Godin.

The declaration was made by DSB CAO Donna Stewart during the September 21 DSB meeting, but the candidates were officially certified and acclaimed in a document dated August 19, 2022, the day nominations for the offices closed.

DSB oversees the elections of unorganized townships on behalf of the Province of Ontario as those areas do not have town clerks or offices associated with organized municipalities. On Manitoulin, the areas of Dawson and Robinson are TWMO.