Ice Chips and Canoe Quips

Island Basketball Championships

The annual Manitoulin Elementary Basketball Championships took place this past week. The girls’ tournament went down up in Little Current. There were a series of close games through the day but after all the games were played the Assiginack All-stars prevailed over the second place C.C. McLean Colts. Coach Becky ‘Spark’ Stewart is proud of the efforts of: Karlee Lentir, Skye Setterington, Kadeez Peltier, Mya Otosquaiob, Emma Cassidy, Bella Manitowabi, Sarah Hovingh and Elena Hovingh.

The boys’ tournament took place at Lakeview Elementary School on Tuesday. As the round robin format played out through the day, coaches were tallying their teams’ results to keep track of where everyone was because of the very close game scores. In the end, Central Manitoulin Public School came out on top with four wins and one tie. Coach, Tracey Chapman was very impressed with the attitude and effort put forth by her charges all season long from the start of training to the championships. Congratulations to: Chris Haner, Matthew Redmond, Sean Orford, Quinn Coker, Alex Dawson, Ethan Smith, Brodie McAllister, Hunter Cranston, C.J. Wilson and J.T. Wright who, although injured was a valuable cheerleader from his crutches. Congratulations team!



The Atom and Bantam Panthers were both putting their skills to the test this weekend for their annual NOHA Tournament of Champions. The Atoms didn’t have far to travel as they played as hosts to the best of Northern Ontario at the NEMI Recreation Centre in Little Current. Congratulations to the local lads who made it right to the championship game and came away with the silver medal. Hats off to: Billy Biedermann, Delaney Bridgeman, Liam Bridgeman, Jesse Burella, Jared Cortes, Damion Debassige, Kal Debassige, Aysia Francis-Debassige, Gabe Hare, Hudson Hare, Riley Lockeyer, Jared Toope, Victoria Trudeau, and Goalies Macie Setterington and Todd Gordon. Also to Coach Dean Hare, Assistants Sundance Hare, Jay Toope, Mason Graham, Trainer Fawn Bridgeman and Manager Stacey Lewis.

The Bantams travelled to Kirkland Lake to play in the Joe Mavrinac Community Complex for the Bantam “B” title. The team had a great round robin and won a couple of games and narrowly missed advancing to the championship game. Congratulations to: Jalen Waindubence, Connor Bellmore, Jacob Genereux, Zack Kategiannis, Parker Hall, Alex Ingraham, Caleb Parks, Trenton Bailey, Kyle Debassige, Cole King, Ethan Corbiere, Adam Goodfellow, Ashlyn Hare, Hunter Cranston, Jayden Little and Kennedy Sintal as well as team staff Coaches Brad Bailey, Peter Kategiannis, Peter Sintal, Jeremiah Corbiere, Trainers Mason Graham and Nancy Waddell and Manager Heather Hall.


Sudbury Nickel City Barons lead series

In the NOJHL (Junior A) playoffs, Sudbury’s Nickel City Barons and Manitoulin sniper Dylan Callaghan helped his squad go up two games to nothing in their second game of their series by scoring two goals against the Elliot Lake Wildcats. Despite putting up a losing regular season with the Wildcats, the Barons have dominated the start of the postseason.   Good luck, Dylan!


Lady Wolf stars at girls’ tournament

Congratulations to Wikwemikong’s Dana Lewis and her recent performance at the 34th annual Walter Gretzky Girls’ Tournament and her Sudbury Lady Wolves Peewee “B” squad. The first game of their campaign was a 2 – 1 win over the Gloucester Cumberland Stars. In game two they put down the Orillia Hawks followed by their victory against the Flamborough Falcons in game three to finish first in their pool. In their semi-final match against the Woodstock Wildcats Dana put in an amazing performance as she shut down the Wildcats for a 3 – 0 shut-out to win the game MVP and advance her team to the championship. As it turned out the Wolves lost to the Ingersoll Ice but were proud of their silver medal performance. Way to go, Dana!


To be continued…

It is not the whole story but a brief congratulations to The Wikwemikong Midgets who won this year’s Manitoulin Minor Championships. One of the team’s snipers Jonas Aiabens was very proud to finally have won the MMHA title after years of always falling short. Kudos to the team staff of Patrick Peltier, Sherman Corbiere and Daniel Lewis who brought the team from bouncing in and around fourth place all season long to making it count in the end. Good job team!


A good sport is good for sports. 705-377-6018