New councilors elected in by-election

M’CHIGEENG—Two new members of council for M’Chigeeng First Nation have been elected in a by-election held this past Saturday, October 29, in the community.

The two new councillors include Bonita Taibossigai and Howie Debassige. In results provided by the M’Chigeeng First Nation band office (and signed by Dan Simon, electoral officer for M’Chigeeng First Nation) Bonita Taibossigai, who received 50 votes, and Howie Debassige, who garnered 46 votes, were both elected in by voters.

Others in the running for one of the two vacant council positions and the votes they received included Jeff Bebonang 36, Diane Bebonang 34, Tiffany Recollet 25 and Brenda Roy with 21 votes.

A total of 114 valid ballots were cast for the two councilor positions.