Allen rink takes Happy McLennan event in Assiginack

The Assiginack Curling Club held its 2023 men’s open this past weekend. The Happy McLennan first event was won by the Rueben Allen rink. In photo left is Lyn Moggy, Rob Mellan, Brad Ham, Reuben Allen and Peter Bond, president of the curling club. SEE MORE WINNING PHOTOS AT MANITOULIN.COM. photo by Harry Fox

by Harry Fox

MANITOWANING—The Assiginack Curling Club hosted the 2023 men’s open January 19-21. The event was attended by 16 rinks who came from all across the Island.

Peter Bond, president of the club, had the opportunity to announce the winners of the 2023 curling championship. The Happy McLennan “A” event was won by Rueben Allen (skip), Brad Ham (vice), Rob Mellan (second) and Lyn Moggy (lead).

The second event winners included Robert Corbiere, George Lunys, Donnie Maiangowi and Ted Pearson. The third event winners included Joe Cooper, Scott Cooper, John Hodder and Brock Mackenzie.

Mr. Bond commented on the importance of supporting Island curling. “We will continue to support other clubs by sending two teams to the rest of the bonspiels on the Island.” Manitowaning continues to support new curlers and will continue to support new curlers across the Island. We welcome you to give it a try.