Bill McCoy rink wins annual Gore Bay Men’s Curling Bonspiel

Bill McCoy, second from left in photo, and his rink which include Oliver Koski, Dale Edwards and Garry Gray, with the E.F. Priddle Memorial Trophy.

GORE BAY—The Bill McCoy rink were presented with the E.F. Priddle Memorial Trophy as the winners of the first event at the Gore Bay Curling Club annual men’s curling bonspiel, held this past weekend.

Skip Bill McCoy and his rink, which included Oliver Koski, Dale Edwards and Garry Gray, won the first event championship in a game played Saturday evening. The runner up was the Max Burt rink which also included Ted Kilpatrick, Bruce Wood and Brian Bell.

“I would like to thank everyone for coming out to play this weekend,” stated Dan Marois of the Gore Bay Curling Club at the awards ceremony. “I hope everyone enjoyed themselves.”

Mr. Marois acknowledged the special volunteer helpers, those that worked on the ice, Kim Orford and Sandie Merrylees and their helpers for the fantastic dinner.

The second event championship game had to go to an extra end to determine a winner. The Lew Lanktree rink, with Todd Bailey, Henry Dykoski and Glen Case, won this event against the rink skipped by Stewart Simpson, with Eric Ruediger, Chris Ruediger and Randy Skippen.

In the third event the Dan Marois rink beat the Jack White rink in the final. Mr. Marois’ rink included Scott McDougall, Bill Riach and Lyle Strain. Mr. White’s rink included Bob Caddle, Angus MacDonald and Alex Dawson.