Linda Debassige elected M’Chigeeng chief

Linda Debassige of M’Chigeeng was elected as chief of her community on Saturday. She is the second woman to fill the role in the history of chief and council, as well as M’Chigeeng’s youngest ever leader. photo by Michael Erskine

Six new councillors take up role

M’CHIGEENG — Former band councillor Linda Debassige was elected chief of M’Chigeeng First Nation in the band elections held on September 12 in an election also contested by G’Mewin Migwans and Martin Debassige.

Unofficial results posted online Mondy indicate that Chief Debassige will be joined at the council table by 10 elected councillors that include Brian Bisson, Ray Corbiere, Debbie C. Debassige, Debbie Ense, Bev Roy Corbiere, Sam Debassige, Thomas Hare, Henry Panamick and Andrea McGraw.

The new band council will feature six new faces around the council table, with incumbents Brian Bisson, Debbie Debassige, Sam Debassige and Henry Panamick Sr. being returned to the council table. A number of incumbents were not on the ballot.

The other candidates for councillor on the ballot were Andrea Panamick, Tiffany Recollet, Charlene Recollet and Basil Panamick.

According to the unofficial tally (and confirmed by candidates), a total of 525 votes were cast during the election.