Two positions up for grabs in M’Chigeeng October by-election

M’CHIGEENG—The M’Chigeeng First Nation has eight candidates for two positions on council, which will be decided in an October 29 by-election.

Nominations are now closed for the upcoming by-election.

The following band members have posted their names for the position: Diane Bebonang, Jeff Bebonang, Howie Debassige, Marko Debassige, James Panamick Jr., Tiffany Recollet, Brenda Roy and Bonita Taibossigai.

All off-reserve band members who register for the election will receive a mail-in ballot. There will be an advance poll on Saturday, October 22 and the final election day is Saturday, October 29 when the final count will be done.

All band members 18 years of age are eligible to vote in person with photo identification.

The electoral officer for M’Chigeeng First Nation is Dan Simon.