Kelly Abbotossaway wins AOK by-election

AUNDECK OMNI KANING—There were a total of 126 ballots cast in an August 11 by-election to fill a vacant seat on the Aundeck Omni Kaning band council. When those ballots were counted, Kelly Abotossaway was the victor with 48 of the votes cast.

In other results, Cynthia Behm received 13 votes, Candice Corbiere received 39 votes and Beverly Wilson received 25 votes. There was one spoiled ballot.

Kelly Abotossaway will replace Marvin Assinewai, who resigned from council earlier this year.