Sheshegwaning First Nation holds nomination meeting for chief and council

Elections set for Nov. 18

SHESHEGWANING—A total of six candidates for the position of Chief of Sheshegwaning First Nation, along with 20 candidates, are in the running for a councillor position after a band chief and council nomination meeting was held in the community on Saturday, October 7.

Information provided by Loretta Roy, membership clerk, notes that those who have been nominated had until this past Thursday, October 12 to let their name stand, or have their name withdrawn for candidacy.

Incumbent chief Dean Roy is one of the six candidates for chief, along with Albert Cada  (incumbent councillor), Gene Cada, Joe Endanawas, Leonard Genereux (incumbent councillor) and Elizabeth Laford.

The 20 persons nominated for the four band councillor positions include incumbent councillors Nicole Bush, Gregory Sampson and Leonard Genereux, as well as Nick Bush, Gene Cada, Janice Cada, Alana Endanawas, Cecilia Endanawas, Freda Endanawas, Verna Hardwick, Kathleen Malley, Sabastien Malley, Angela McLeod, Marie McLeod, Lance Panamick, Chris Sagon, Blair Sampson, Emilio Tomaselli, Charles R.E. Wabegijik and Ernest Wabegijik.

The election will be held to elect one chief and four councillors on Saturday, November 18 from 9 am until 8 pm at the community centre. The votes will be counted at the community centre immediately after the close of the  poll. The results will be declared immediately following the count. Electors may also vote by mail-in ballot.