M’CHIGEENG—Two Manitoulin Secondary School (MSS) Mustangs runners have qualified for the provincial secondary school cross-country running championships.

Amber Wiwchar and Marjorie Scott have both qualified for the Ontario Federation of Secondary School Association meet, after posting excellent results at the Northern Ontario secondary school championships in Mattawa, last week.

In the midget girls division, Amber Wiwchar was first overall in the four kilometre race, in a time of 17:32. Two Wasse-Abin runners also fared well, with Francesca Pheasant finishing 14th with a time of 19:44, and Sierra Pangowish in 21st in a time of 20:41.

The senior boys six kilometre race saw James Scott of MSS posting a time of 26:50 for a 25th place finish. Fellow MSS runner Doug Robinson finished in 50th place in this division, in a time of 29:58. On the senior girls (six kilometre race) side, Beth Wiwchar of MSS, in a time of 31:32 placed 12th. Gabby Corbiere of MSS was 39th in a time of 35:49.

The junior boys five kilometre race saw Ian Dokum of Wasse-Abin finishing 20th overall in a time of 21:47. Gabriel Trudeau, also of Wasse-Abin was 37th in a time of 23:50 and Connor Phillips of MSS was 51st in a time of 27:32.

In the junior girls five kilometre race, Marjorie Scott of MSS placed 16th overall in a time of 26:55. Mackenzie Cortes was 31st in a time of 28:45, with Larissa Chevrette, also of MSS, in 38th in a time of 29:48. Novaleigh Peltier of Wasse-Abin placed 54th in a time of 32:17, while Zoe Couillard of MSS was 60th in a time of 35:06. Anina Pangowish of Wasse-Abin was 64th with a time of 38:06.

The MSS junior girls’ team finished in sixth place among the teams participating in NOSSA. The  team included Marjorie Scott, Mackenzie Cortes, Larissa Chevrette and Zoe Couillard.